caralockhartsmith

stories and illustration

Shadow of the Geranium

 

shadow of the geranium 2

“Shadow of the Geranium” feels like the title of a South American magical realist novel. Maybe I should have it as the title of a book I mean to write some time with Brighton in the 60s as its setting, though I am not quite sure how I will weave in the geranium. The scent of the leaves reminds me of the terrace outside my Granny’s house in Chailey, Sussex. These geraniums are in the window-boxes outside out kitchen window, and sometimes the afternoon sun strikes the net curtains in a particular way.

shadow of the geranium

 

 

August 24, 2016 - Posted by | Art, Photography, Uncategorized | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

