caralockhartsmith

stories and illustration

Cover Design for “The Midnight Hare”

Cover for The Midnight Hare

This is a definite idea for the cover, but I may possibly do a later version simplifying the greenery and strengthening the colours (which are anyway brighter in the original).  At this stage I am going to get postcards printed with this design, with large lettering in the centre, as a preliminary advertisement for the book. How many things there are to consider, once one has decided not try to go the route of conventional publishing.  This design does have something of the feeling of the book, though the actual book is a bit fierce and more active in places.  It is a pretty old-fashioned design, but that doesn’t matter. Up the Grannies, say I.  The specks and little blotches will be removed before making the CDs for the postcards.  The lettering is going to be in darkest blue, at this stage, though again, this may change for the final cover.  Now I need to acquire some ISBN numbers.  This is all quite fun, and I have to some extent done a lot of it before; but the strange thing is, the more one knows the more edgy it can all feel! Whilst doing ths cover, insects kept crawling across the page (I have put a portrait of one of them in there). This may account for one or two of the flecks in this scan.

October 3, 2015 - Posted by | Art, Illustration, Uncategorized | , , , , ,

12 Comments »

  1. Lovely Cara

    Like

    Comment by greenmackenzie | October 3, 2015 | Reply

    • Hi, Seonaid, did reply to you but can’t have pushed the right button. I am so glad you like the design, I had a sleepless night as I thought the design was too pale for a cover, but after some work with crayon it has come out better, and I will be turning it into a design for a postcard, and will rework it slightly for the final cover. But so encouraging when it is liked. I uploaded a version with the lettering but it came out so virulent on WordPress I trashed it and its day-glo colour as unfit for visual consumption; though I am pretty sure the pdf I a taking to the printers will come out OK. THERE IS SO MUCH I DON’T KNOW!!! It’s probably good for me that I recognise this fact, I certainly hope so….

      Like

      Comment by Cara Lockhart Smith | October 4, 2015 | Reply

      • Anytime I have uploaded art onto WordPress the colours have gone very day glow indeed😳
        It looks very pretty though and I’m sure the printer will get a better match with the real thing😀🍀

        Like

        Comment by greenmackenzie | October 6, 2015

      • Computers are strange, aren’t they? The design came out OK at the printers, I am glad to say, so should work as a postcard. I now have the basis for the cover design, though I am thinking of maybe doing it on slightly tinted paper. We shall see. I have a self-imposed deadline for the project, but it is quite generous!

        Liked by 1 person

        Comment by Cara Lockhart Smith | October 6, 2015

  2. beautiful!!

    Like

    Comment by debiriley | October 4, 2015 | Reply

    • So nice to hear you like the design, Debi. I am going to have it printed now as a postcard, but will make some changes to the final cover, though not to many, I think the idea is there, now. The version I put up on WordPress tonight has come out virulent, but the original files seem to be alright. Anyway, this is my first real foray into getting the final version of the book started, so it is very nice to know you like the idea.
      (Have decided to trash the version I put up tonight as the colours were so horrible when uploaded!)

      Liked by 1 person

      Comment by Cara Lockhart Smith | October 4, 2015 | Reply

      • so what we saw on WP much stronger in colour and contrast than your original?

        Like

        Comment by debiriley | October 5, 2015

      • The one that is on-line now, which I copied off the copy done by the printer, is nearer how it will be. I have trashed the really day-glo version, though it came up really exotically on Facebook, everything reversed, Stygian rather than day-glo. Thought some people liked it!

        Like

        Comment by Cara Lockhart Smith | October 6, 2015

  3. I really like this design! Look forward to the book! Linda pep

    Like

    Comment by Linda pep | October 4, 2015 | Reply

    • Thanks again, Linda Pep, and look forward to seeing you on Thursday week.

      Like

      Comment by Cara Lockhart Smith | October 4, 2015 | Reply

  4. Enchanting, Cara. I love the soft colours.

    Like

    Comment by Meanderer | October 6, 2015 | Reply

    • Thank you very much for saying that, it is my first foray into any kind of finished work for the book (even though the actual cover will be slightly different, this is going to be a postcard to be used for publicity purposes) so kind remarks are very much appreciated.

      Like

      Comment by Cara Lockhart Smith | October 8, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

