caralockhartsmith

stories and illustration

Willow and Snowdrops

SnowdropsWent tramping around today in this little plantation, near the town.  The runnels are still full of ice here, there is a profusion of snowdrops, no footprints. Nobody walks here much, as the place does not have a way through to the town, the only walk being on the other side of the river.  I have seen deer here, and just across the water, a kingfisher, that flamy breast and then the flash of turquoise as it darts off. I’ve also seen grey wagtails (with their yellow breasts) down by the water. These are birds I knew from my childhood but don’t see often now. Today I tried not to step on the snowdrops, planting my boots on the moss, enjoying being in a secret place whilst just a short way away the town was going about its business: I could hear traffic, and a dog barking, somebody shouting. As usual, I disturbed a heron.

February 9, 2015 - Posted by | Art, Photography, Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

