caralockhartsmith

stories and illustration

First Frost 3

afrost3This miniature rose has survived outside for four years now, and this will be its last flower of the year. The bright leaves of the acer outside the door have suddenly darkened and shrivelled. Driving back from Melrose this evening, it is dark by four o’clock.  We stop at St Boswells to have cappucinos and a shared brownie in the Main Street Trading Bookshop. Then as we head towards Coldstream, the moon lights up the road ahead with a wash of silver. The clear sky is banded with shades of blue, mauve-pink, pale yellow and then deeper blue overhead, while behind us the horizon that was outlined against the orange of the invisible sun slowly fades into shadow.  At five o’clock it feels like night. As December begins, suddenly it is winter.

December 3, 2014 - Posted by | Art, Photography, Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. Such a beautiful photo! I love the fine detail of the frost on the petals.

    Like

    Comment by Musings from a Tangled Mind | December 4, 2014 | Reply

    • Thank you, Wendy – I just caught sight of that rose outside my studio – something gallant about it trying to bloom like that in this freezing weather. It is one of those miniature tub roses that usually expire at the first sight of the real world, but it has a sturdy temperament. I am fond of it because it was a present.

      Liked by 1 person

      Comment by Cara Lockhart Smith | December 4, 2014 | Reply

      • And the frost doesn’t kill the whole plant? I mean I guess not, if it’s still thriving. 🙂 I’ve always covered mine at the first sign of frost. But they’re a different kind of rose. I’m just wondering if I’m wasting my time covering mine. I can understand why you want to see yours thrive…when it’s a gift, you want to see it last as long as possible.

        Like

        Comment by Musings from a Tangled Mind | December 5, 2014

      • Hey, Wendy, I’m not a gardener, I am sure you are doing the right thing by covering your roses and delicate plants, my husband does bring in and take out plants at the right season as he is really canny about these things. It is just this little rose that seems to keep going year on year, so I guess I will just let this particular plant get on with it. But if it gets really cold, I’ll bring it in to shelter in my studio, which is only a few feet away.

        Like

        Comment by Cara Lockhart Smith | December 6, 2014

      • I have no idea what I’m doing either but I try. 🙂 And yours is thriving, so the frost can’t be doing it any harm. And the frost sure made it beautiful!

        Like

        Comment by Musings from a Tangled Mind | December 6, 2014

  2. Isn’t it amazing how long the roses have stayed in bloom this year…..a frosted beauty Cara

    Like

    Comment by greenmackenzie | December 4, 2014 | Reply

    • Hi Seonaid. Thank you for your comment. Yes, I was touched by that little flower – I don’t think it will last long this December, but the miniature rose plant itself has been blooming all summer in its pot, so I expect to enjoy its flowers again next year.

      Like

      Comment by Cara Lockhart Smith | December 4, 2014 | Reply

      • It’s been a great summer for roses, and I haven’t even pruned mine yet as they are still blooming even now. So uplifting 🙂

        Like

        Comment by greenmackenzie | December 4, 2014


Leave a Reply

