caralockhartsmith

stories and illustration

Looking Up into Birch Leaves

birch leaves

Still these blue skies during the day, but in the evening the air has an edge of frost. The clocks have gone back. Down the side streets in Coldstream, in the late afternoon, I can hardly see my way between the dim orange glow of the widely-spaced street lamps.Today was the first time I have worn gloves for months, I had to burrow my way between old soft  hats to find them. Back to work time, I think: a book of high summer.  I am going to spoil myself by ordering the most exotic colours I can find in designer gouache. I cannot understand how I buy paint, I have tubes and tubes of raw umber.  Why?  No more of this.  It’s violets and fuchsias, and dark maroon I want, though why these autumnal tints are going to represent high summer I don’t know.  Just call it self-indulgence.  There will be lots of naples yellow used and yes, some raw umber no doubt.  And I need to find out how to create a green so dark it verges on black.

October 29, 2014 - Posted by | Painting, Photography, Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. How lovely! I can see the colors. ♡

    Like

    Comment by Silver Threading | October 29, 2014 | Reply

    • I would have liked to capture the colours more brightly, but it was difficult at that angle. I am glad that your imagination supplied them – the trees are so lovely this time of year, I have been trying to capture some of the effects before the winds blow the colours all away Thank you for your comment.

      Liked by 1 person

      Comment by Cara Lockhart Smith | November 4, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

