caralockhartsmith

stories and illustration

October: Cheviots 4

Cheviot 4

For some reason, in my easy life, I seem to have been chasing deadlines for some weeks …nothing drastic, all very pleasant, just odds there and sods there; but today, nada.  A day of rest.  I decided to go for a little walk, tender on my feet which had been overworked yesterday… however, I wandered about for over two hours.  A high wind was blowing, so before I left I had decided to avoid walking under trees. Some time later I found myself walking under trees.  Still, nothing fell on my head. On my way home the October light on the hills caught my eye.  The light was there for just a few seconds, and I managed to capture it.  Everything changes. All the time. And yet these hills have been here for so very long.  I have had a good day today.

October 19, 2014 - Posted by | Art, Photography, Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. You said it well, “Everything changes. All the time. And yet these hills have been here for so very long.” I love the image, too.

    Like

    Comment by annerose | October 19, 2014 | Reply

    • Thank you for your comments, Annerose – I was captivated by the light, which was so transient, and then it occurred to me how long the light had been shining on those hills, so from a feelng of transience I had also a feeling of a great stretch of past time underneath, where the same things had existed further back than one can imagine.

      Like

      Comment by Cara Lockhart Smith | October 20, 2014 | Reply

  2. Wasn’t that fleeting light yesterday beautiful Cara….I went walking in the woods just for the swirling wind 🙂

    Like

    Comment by greenmackenzie | October 20, 2014 | Reply

    • Hello, Seonaid – thank you for commenting. I doubt whether walking in the woods tomorrow will be that good an idea. But yesterday the light was very beautiful on the hills, I was glad I had my camera with me so I would have something to recall that fleeting light. Also, having the camera makes me more aware of what is around me.

      Liked by 1 person

      Comment by Cara Lockhart Smith | October 20, 2014 | Reply

  3. Stunning photo and I feel your sense of the timeless history of those hills…

    Like

    Comment by clinock | October 20, 2014 | Reply

    • Thank you, John. Very nice to hear from you. I saw that light, and just caught it before it vanished. It was a rather strange, beautiful day. The sky has been astonishing over the last few weeks.

      Like

      Comment by Cara Lockhart Smith | October 20, 2014 | Reply

  4. Marvelous, marvelous. I love the subtle beauty of this image.

    Like

    Comment by Son of Sharecroppers | October 20, 2014 | Reply

    • For once I caught a moment of light just as I saw it, a few seconds later everything had changed. But there was something about the light on the hills yesterday that moved me. I deliberately ignored the little yellow square on my camera telling me when everything would be in focus/balanced, as I wanted a certain depth of colour that the focussed images seemed to leach out. Anyway, I was happy with this photograph, it expressed what I felt when I looked at the hills.I am so happy when other people are also taken with images that I put on my blog.

      Like

      Comment by Cara Lockhart Smith | October 20, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

