caralockhartsmith

stories and illustration

Sunflower

Sunflower1

Bird seed must have drifted into a nearby bed, as this solitary sunflower has grown up  among the beans. I have fallen for this sunflower.  I can’t stop looking at it in all its amazing, stalwart and delicate detail.  There will be more sunflowers on this blog over the next few weeks. Day by day the crunched leaves open to let out this dazzling yellow, just when most other flowers are losing their bloom.  This is one tough-looking sunflower.

October 1, 2014 - Posted by | Painting, Photography, Uncategorized | , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Tough, but oh so beautiful. Love seeing the details of these flowers – so much that’s revealed. We have a lot of wild sunflowers around here in North TX.

    Like

    Comment by Mary | October 2, 2014 | Reply

    • Yes, Mary, I agree about the beauty of sunflowers, I kind of get the Van Gogh paintings more now I have become closely acquainted with this specimen. I have never looked so closely at a sunflower before, and I found this one amazing. I suppose it is wild in the sense that it grew from a bird seed. It is already fading, even as the flower opens up into full bloom, so I am glad I captured it before it vanished. I think its structure is so powerful. I might do a poast just on different views of this sunflower.

      Like

      Comment by Cara Lockhart Smith | October 6, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

