caralockhartsmith

stories and illustration

Coldstream Bridge: A Border Crossing

bridge1

This is the bridge between Scotland and England, a few yards from where I live. In the summer students sit on the weir or swim in the river, celebrating the end of their exams. Herons fly from bank to bank of the Tweed, the boundary river. Half a mile further along the river there are flocks of Canada geese, all mingled up with greylag geese and swans, and gulls and ducks. These are Borderlands.

bridge3

bridge7

abridge16

September 17, 2014 - Posted by | Art, Photography, Uncategorized | , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. I love scenes like these three – you live in a gorgeous area.

    Like

    Comment by Mary | September 17, 2014 | Reply

    • Thank you, Mary, for your kind comment. I feel lucky to live in a place that I find constantly interesting to look at, and somewhere that has such a rich history.

      Like

      Comment by Cara Lockhart Smith | September 18, 2014 | Reply

  2. Beautiful landscapes and pictures.

    Like

    Comment by Aditix | September 20, 2014 | Reply

    • Thank you so much for your comment, Aditix. I uploaded quite a few pictures of Coldstream Bridge and of River Tweed, for obvious reasons at this historical time!

      Like

      Comment by Cara Lockhart Smith | September 20, 2014 | Reply

  3. After a busy, busy summer, I am just now having time to go through my reader and see the work of bloggers that I follow. Your photos are warming my heart … How many times have I crossed that bridge, I cannot count them. I am ‘visiting’ my home-away through your photographs, and it is delightful. We will have to sit and have a cup of tea the next time I am at Kilham. It is a must!

    Like

    Comment by Maggie Beck | October 8, 2014 | Reply

    • Absolutely to the cup of tea, Maggie, that would be a real pleasure. I am so glad that my photographs bring back good memories. Thank you so much for telling me that.

      Liked by 1 person

      Comment by Cara Lockhart Smith | October 8, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

