caralockhartsmith

stories and illustration

A Bed of Wild Flowers

flowerbed

Some time back, in late spring, I bought a kind of thin tissuey roll, which was apparently embedded with wild flower seeds. We decided to use a raised bed in the vegetable garden for wild flowers, as we wanted to encourage bees and other insects. The roll was opened out and laid on the bed and thinly sprinkled with earth.  Nothing much happened, except a lot of grass seed from droppings from the bird table.  I thought what a waste of time. Another small packed of flower seed was bought and sprinkled.  Again nothing.  In desperation a packet of wild flower seed from Homebase was produced and this was added to the mix. Still nothing.  A friend who came a month or so ago, after seeing the rest of the verdant and blooming garden, said to me: “Your bit needs some attention,” as she thought it was just a few weeds in what should be a pristine bed.  Then suddenly, overnight it seemed, there were flowers. Plenty of them.  And bees and butteflies and numerous smaller insects. Even a corn cockle, very beautiful, apparently poisonous, which I didn’t photograph until it was on the way out. When I have finished the paintings  I am working on at the moment, for exhibition, I will hover about the wildflower patch with the hover flies and try and capture some insects enjoying the poppies et al. Meanwhile I will collect some poppy seeds, and look out for somewhere I can buy some corn cockles to cultivate for next year.

 

July 30, 2014 - Posted by | Photography, Uncategorized | , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Who knew! What a great little surprise, but for your patience of waiting and the added sprinkles of seed you have yourself a little wildflower garden. Wonder! My perennials and I are constantly battling the friendly rabbits in the neighborhood – some have survived, but many have been mowed down. Lovely photographs ~

    Like

    Comment by Mary | July 30, 2014 | Reply

    • Thank you, Mary, for your comment. We are in a town so no rabbits only marauding cats after the birds. The bird seed falling into the wild flowers is causing some diruption, next year I will organise things differently. But lots of bees around, and even some butterflies. By the way, very much liked your recent poppyfield painting.

      Like

      Comment by Cara Lockhart Smith | August 3, 2014 | Reply

      • Thank you so much Cara for your comment on Poppy Field – a new subject for me in painting a field of flowers. I really enjoyed myself with this scene.

        Like

        Comment by Mary | August 4, 2014

      • Yes, I could tell that. Lovely painting.

        Like

        Comment by Cara Lockhart Smith | August 5, 2014


Leave a Reply

