caralockhartsmith

stories and illustration

Cherry Blossom: “Loveliest of trees, the cherry now”

acherry6

 

 

From “A Shropshire Lad” by A.E. Housman

 

Loveliest of trees, the cherry now

Is hung with bloom along the bough,

And stands about the woodland ride

Wearing white for Eastertide.

 

acherry9

 

 

 

Now, of my threescore years and ten,

Twenty will not come again,

And take from seventy springs a score,

It only leaves me fifty more.

 

acherry4

 

 

 

And since to look at things in bloom

Fifty springs is little room,

About the woodlands I will go

To see the cherry hung with snow.

 

acherry3

 

 

 

acherry8

 

 

April 26, 2014 - Posted by | Photography, Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Thanks for sharing this beautiful poem. I’m watching my young blossom tree at the moment!

    Like

    Comment by currankentucky | April 26, 2014 | Reply

    • Thank you so much for taking the time to speak about the poem and to say how you like it. I don’t usually put other people’s work on my blog, but over the last few weeks the Housman words kept coming into my head. The blossom has been amazing this year, dazzling. I particularly love the cherry – we had a tree in our yard when I was a child and I remember liking it so much, finding it so pretty, I felt real sorrow when all the flowers broke up into fragments and then disappeared. Each year the cherry blossom reminds me of that tree. I wonder whether it is still there in the yard. I have been reading your blog, it is very moving, I hope the summer brings you joy.

      Like

      Comment by Cara Lockhart Smith | April 27, 2014 | Reply

      • Nature gifts us at every corner and deserves to be spoken of and appreciated. I too wish you a wonderful summer, one filled with colour and warmth.

        Like

        Comment by currankentucky | April 27, 2014


Leave a Reply

