caralockhartsmith

stories and illustration

Blackthorn Blossom 3

blossom 2

Tangled up, like illustrations to the story of Sleeping Beauty, that barrier of thorns round the castle still hung with the cadavers of defeated suitors. It was a fairy story that haunted me, but it was the sleeping castle I loved, I imagined insects crawling around over the sleeping grooms and cooks and housemaids and the face of Beauty herself. Perhaps it was only the domestic animals that were put into a sleep. The Prince himself, with his blonde pageboy hair, I never took to, not even when he was gallantly tearing down the thorns: just as when, in Beauty and the Beast, the Beast turns into a handsome prince – my dear, what a disappointment!

April 2, 2014 - Posted by | Photography, Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Almost illusionary, Cara. My eyes keep focusing in on the flowers, and then out to the tangle. Beautiful and fun!

    Like

    Comment by Maggie Beck | April 3, 2014 | Reply

    • Thanks, Maggie, I really like your comment, it is lovely to think you enjoying looking into the criss-cross of the branches. I think I will have to put them into a painting some time. You don’t see the thorns so much when looking at the blossom, but I examined the plants when out yesterday and the thorns are really quite long and sharp.

      Like

      Comment by Cara Lockhart Smith | April 4, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

