caralockhartsmith

stories and illustration

Eyemouth: Two Paintings

eyemouthsnow

Eyemouth: the First Snow

Just got nearly 30 paintings off for exhibition at Eyemouth Museum, don’t think they will have space to hang them all, as there are other artists showing, but I should get a wall at least, and more fun for the curators if they can pick and choose. The painting above didn’t start off as a winter picture, but I started splattering white on the surface at one point, and it reminded me of snow.  I prepared the original canvas by putting one colour over another dried layer of acrylic, then wrapping the canvas with cling film which  while the top coat was still slightly wet. When the cling film is unwrapped, after probably 24 hours, there are interesting patterns on the surface, where the crinkled parts of the cling film have lifted off the base colour. I paint the images in thinner layers than I used to, so that this patterning shows through here and there. It is a winter picture, but the underlying burnt sienna tone gives it a warmer tinge, and, I hope integrates the overall tone.

I also did a picture of Eyemouth harbour in the summer.  Again I prepared the surface, this time in a darker tone, and it shows through in the sky especially. The perspective is fairly deliberately somewhat askew, as I do the painting as if I was walking along the harbour and seeing the buildings straight on all the way along.  I also think the photographs themselves are slightly askew, and somewhat reduced in size, as it is very difficult to take a photograph of a picture this shape and manage to get the whole thing in a rectangle (in fact it is difficult to take pictures of ones work accurately anyway, if you don’t read instructions carefully, which I don’t until it becomes absolutely necessary – but I have now bought myself a book on digital photography, which should help me, when I get round to reading it). I know I could do some work on photoshop to rectify this slant, but I’ll leave it for now.  At least I have a copy of my work, which until recently, and until the advent of that wonder, the digital camera, I never had; so if I sold a painting, it was gone forever.

eyemouthsummer

Eyemouth Harbour in Summer

II must have taken hundreds of photographs of Eyemouth, which is visually a very interesting fishing town, and a place of great character and a fascinating history. Now I am without any deadlines, so I will impose some for myself, and get going on my story, The Midnight Hare. What a luxury, to have the time to try and do this as well as I can. The landscape of the hare book is Coldstream and its environment, but also there are memories of my own childhood interwoven with the paintings. I am lucky to live in the Scottish Borders.

July 29, 2013 - Posted by | Illustration, Photography, Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Cara, that is amazing paintings love your work and good luck in the exhibition. I am not sure if it is right but I normally when having such painting size, I take a picture of the complete length of the rectangle painting and then crop it to correct size I hope that help.

    Like

    Comment by doronart | July 29, 2013 | Reply

  2. Hi Doron. Thanks very much for the advice – actually, I do try and do that, but my camera kind of warps the painting, so when I put it on the computer I still have to cut it down a bit to get it in a rectangle. Maybe I should try taking it from further away, but then I lose detail. With small paintings I put them on the ground and take them from above, and that seems to work better. All these things one has to try to deal with, but at least there is the technology to help record so much now, we live in an amazing world. I always look forward to seeing your new paintings. Very nice to hear from you, I hope the painting is going well.

    Like

    Comment by Cara Lockhart Smith | July 30, 2013 | Reply

  3. Cara, are these prints available for sale?

    Charlie

    Like

    Comment by Charlie | November 18, 2013 | Reply

    • Hi Charlie

      Good to hear from you. Charlie. No, I have never turned these paintings into prints – in fact one of them has changed a bit since the exhibition as I was fooling around with it. In due course I could let you see the fooled around version, just from photographs, and then if you wanted a one-off print, or two one-off prints, then I could ask around and see how much a decent print would be, probably reduced size from the originals (?); and would just charge you accordingly ie. cost of print, postage and say £10 for my time. However, it is quite an expensive way of buying a print. I don’t really do prints of my paintings. The multiples I do are in the card and book line. All the best, Cara PS The pictures on-line are just from photographs, so not high quality, but you are welcome to try and print one off yourself, obviously.

      Like

      Comment by Cara Lockhart Smith | November 18, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

