caralockhartsmith

stories and illustration

A Tale of Two Ponies

Two Ponies

In January I photographed a shetland pony  in a very chewed-over, leaf-ridden field, as it champed away, looking somewhat forlorn:

In the spring, along came an even smaller pony, with a mane that was quite something:

New Pony

This pony had a slightly timid look, but seemed to have plenty of joie de vivre:

I was pleased that the original pony now had a companion, but for weeks the ponies seemed to want to have nothing to do with each other:

All they did was eat in different parts of the field:

As the grass grew more rich, there seemed to be some rapprochement (although it may have been the hay left round the tree that drew them together:

But at least I could get them in one shot, fairly close up:

Then at last I found them eating next to each other, chomping away in a companionable manner:

When the weather got very hot, one pony took shelter in the hut, whilst the other pony stood close by, just outside. They were always together when I saw them.  Then one day, a week or so ago, I went to look in the field, and the ponies were gone.  There was nothing there but flowers, growing higher and higher:

I don’t suppose I shall ever see them again, but I wish them well, wherever they are.

July 24, 2013 - Posted by | Photography, Uncategorized | , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. [ Smiles ] Those ponies are absolutely adorable!

    Like

    Comment by Renard Moreau | July 24, 2013 | Reply

    • Thanks a lot for your comment. Yes, I really liked those shetland ponies and I shall miss them, the field doesn’t look at all the same without them. I wonder whether they were meant to be partners. Maybe one day there will be the clatter of tiny hooves.

      Like

      Comment by Cara Lockhart Smith | July 25, 2013 | Reply

  2. I love Shetland ponies! Very cute story and pictures!!

    Like

    Comment by Andrew Friend | July 27, 2013 | Reply

    • Nice to hear from you. Yes, Shetland ponies are very endearing. I can’t believe how small and shaggy their legs look in the winter. They have given me much amusement, I hope they are enjoying their new field, wherever that may be.

      Like

      Comment by Cara Lockhart Smith | July 27, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

